How to Easily Adapt to Healthier Food Habits | 6 Ways

–Perfecting one’s diet is an art. We are constantly surrounded by tempting foods filled with saturated fats, oils, and sugar. Luckily, there are ways to change your diet so you can easily adapt to something a bit healthier. Because after all…health is wealth people!! Obviously once in a while, it doesn’t necessarily hurt to have a fatty food or sugary drink but understand that it should only be in moderation and not an everyday thing (if you truly want to change your ways). Here are some of my suggestions for a healthier eating lifestyle:

  1. Substitute almond milk for cow’s milk

Cow’s milk isn’t as healthy as you might think. I used to drink a ton of it when I was a kid, but as I got older I realized it wasn’t as good for me as I previously thought! I won’t get into it here, but here’s an article to explain what I mean: https://saveourbones.com/osteoporosis-milk-myth/

Anyhow, almond milk is a great substitute for regular milk, especially because there are so many different options! I personally like to opt for vanilla sweetened almond milk because I haven’t yet acquired a taste for the unsweetened kind just yet. It has nearly all the same vitamins and minerals regular milk has, and I honestly feel so much healthier after drinking it!!

2. Switch out the butter on your toast for avocados

Avocados are all the rage right now, and for a good reason. They have so many benefits for your body! They have healthy omega-3 fatty acids, as well as vitamins C, E, K, B6, potassium and more! Plus, switching to avocado toast will have you feeling more full! If you don’t like the taste of avocado by itself, try adding different spices in with it or sprinkling something such as pomegranate seeds over your toast. Yummy!

3. Mix up your salads with healthy, colorful ingredients

FullSizeRender-7

Don’t bore yourself and your salad by just adding dressing and croutons, mix it up! One thing I’ve tried recently is adding butternut squash to my salad! It sounds a bit odd, but I promise you it tastes so good! It adds a soft texture with a subtle flavor. Along with that, I also enjoy adding things like grape or cherry tomatoes, black beans, grilled turkey (with taco seasoning), and pecans! You just have to find what you like and mix it in! Salads that are filled with a bunch of things like this are also perfect for pre-making earlier in the day for dinner in case you feel exhausted after work!

4. Always keep a water bottle nearby

One thing that I for one tend to neglect to do is drink enough water! It is so vital for our body’s to function properly and yet I still forget *facepalm*. This is why it’s important to keep some type of a water bottle nearby to remind you. Even if you have to write it in your planner or something, do it! And remember, when you’re thirsty you’re already dehydrated…. hydrate yo self!

5. Plan out your meals in advance

If you plan out your {healthy} meals beforehand, there will be no reason for you to say “f*ck it” and zoom over to your closet McDonald’s drive-thru! It will help you stay focused on your health goals and keep you feeling guilt-free! 🙂

6. Eat slower — Savor your food

I’m naturally a slow eater. It can take me up to an hour to finish my meal sometimes depending on how big it is! I’ve always been the one people have waited on to finish my food, but have later found many benefits in doing so.

  • Better digestion
  • Easier weight loss
  • Helps your body recognize when you’re full
  • Prevents over-eating
  • Reduces diabetes risk

So, even if it means setting your fork down for a while, make sure you eat slower so you can savor your food and appreciate all the benefits that go along with it!

 

Leave a Reply

