How I Found My Purpose | Stop Living a Shitty Life!

I’ll be 19 in a few days. I suppose you could say I have almost my whole life ahead of me, considering I’ve never had a “professional” job yet and only two entry level ones for that matter (currently a housekeeper).

I’m in college, doing all the “right” things to try and get a good job down the road, even though I will encounter a lot of student loan debt along the way.

For you, maybe you’re not in my position. Maybe you’re younger and haven’t yet a clue what you want to do in life or major in (if you choose to go to college) or maybe you’re older but you end up unfulfilled at the end of the day. Whoever you are, if you’re having a hard time finding your true purpose, know that I’m here to help.

I can’t confidently proclaim that I’m “wise” but I can tell you a little bit about my thoughts on the whole subject.

In the spring of 2016, my senior year of high school, I had no idea what I’d be doing the next year. Almost everyone I knew had already applied to schools in the fall, gotten accepted, and were eager for their college journey to start.

Then, there was me. I had only applied to a community college which I knew I didn’t want to go to.  I feared no one would accept my 2.9 GPA and lack of extracurricular activities, so naturally I didn’t apply to a school I figured I wouldn’t get in to because application fees alone are far too pricey for my liking.

So by the end of April, it was getting late. I knew at this point my choices were limited. I also knew that although it would be fun to go to some interesting university in another state, there was no way in hell I would even be able to afford the out-of-state tuition. I decided it was best to stay close to home at this point. So long story short, I picked a school 20 minutes away from my house. Got accepted. I was no longer feeling hopeless about the future. But of course, picking a major was hard too.

I had no fucking idea what I wanted to do with my life. Like, none. Of course, you don’t always have to go straight into college knowing what your major will be, but I felt like I needed to make a decision. For some reason I just didn’t feel right checking the box that said “undeclared”.

So, I thought about it some more. But this time, I tried something different. This time, I reflected on my childhood. As a kid, I’d like to think that I embraced my creative side as best I could. I started making these magazines called “The Daily Scoop of Today’s World” where I would include current events, recipes, drawings, interesting facts, etc. and I would sell them to family members and relatives. I also would make “fun kits” for my cousins (except these were free of charge) which were essentially similar to the magazine idea except sometimes I would include physical things like hair clips and such. Then, when I was a little bit older I made “beaded bun hair wraps” where I would take a bendable gold wire and put different beads on them. You could then wrap them around your bun! It’s actually quite funny because a short while after that, bun accessories became very trendy. Anyhow, what I came to realize by reflecting on what my past self liked to do, is that I like to sell things! I like business! Which then led me to to want to do marketing! Now, I can’t see myself doing anything else (except for blogging). I enjoy writing as well.

FullSizeRender-8
“The Daily Scoop of Today’s World” magazines that I handmade when I was younger

I think to truly find your purpose you have to realize what makes you the happiest in life. If you’re not sure, then try new things and sort out what you like and what you don’t.  You have to understand that it’s never too late. If you want something badly enough, and you work hard to try and earn it, it will manifest. If it doesn’t, you’re probably not working hard enough! NEVER SETTLE FOR A SHITTY LIFE. I have seen a lot of people settle and end up stressed out and ultimately disappointed with their life at the end of the day. Don’t be that person. You have so much potential, if you can’t see it then it’s just because you don’t know it yet.

Here are some questions to reflect on:

  • What in your childhood did you like to do/ what made you happy?
  • What are you good at?
  • Why do you feel like you’re life isn’t fulfilling? ( Once you find out what that is, cut it out of your life)
  • What types of professions do you absolutely NOT see yourself in? (To help narrow down your options)
  • What do you want out of this life?
  • How do you feel, right now in this moment? Why?
  • What do you want, but because of financial restrictions right now, cannot get?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

