How to Turn A Bad Day Around!

Bad days. Β πŸ‘Ž

We’re all familiar with them.

They can creep up at the worst times causing frustration, sadness, and anger to manifest.

So, how can we turn one around?

The first thing I do is figure out the cause of my bad day. There is never an effect without a cause.Β For example, the other day I had gotten home after being on my feet all day at work, but I was so excited because a package I had been waiting for was supposed to arrive. Unfortunately, when I got home it turned out the package was delayed and wouldn’t be delivered until Monday (today). There were probably a couple other minor things in the mix as well, but for some reason I got so frustrated and upset. Maybe it’s just because I’m an impatient person in general, but my point is that once I realized WHY I was having a bad day, I fixed it. I lit a geranium scented candle, took some deep breaths, ate some snacks, and looked forward to getting the package sometime in the near future.

Of course, there are far worse days to be had than the minor example above, but that just proves that even little things can find a way to mettle with our good days.

The second thing you can do is UNDERSTAND. Understand that things happen, some in your favor and some not. Understand why these things have happened, and maybe your perspective will change. You have to realize that we as humans can’t constantly be in control of everything in our lives. Sometimes we lose our jobs, sometimes our car breaks down, and sometimes we forget to do something important. Don’t let yourself be a victim of circumstance, otherwise you will never progress in life.

My third tip is to surround yourself with people/animals/things that make YOU happy. I feel like when we are upset we tend to distance ourselves from the things we love the most almost as an extra unnecessary punishment. Stop doing that and instead TREAT ‘YO SELF! Buy a large iced coffee, pet your dog, call up your best friends — whatever you can do to add a little bit of positivity to your day, take advantage of it!! Just as little things can make your day worse, they can also occasionally make them better.

Finally, the fourth thing you can do is look toward the future. Don’t look at it like “OMG it’s just gonna get worse from here” but rather in a more positive light, shining on goals you’d like to accomplish or things about yourself that you’d like to improve. We are always in need of improvement!

Is your day better yet? Hope so! πŸ™‚

To sum it up:

  • There is no cause without an effect
  • Understand why you’re in your current situation
  • Surround yourself with things you love
  • Look forward to the future/make goals

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Just reading this made me feel better πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

