Let’s Talk About: Self-Love ðŸ’–

Hey Guys!

Lately, I’ve really been contemplating life and how to be happy and make the most out of the times in my life where I struggle/fail.

The world has always been somewhat of a “dark” place. It’s kind of a cross between  heaven and hell. A war zone of good vs. evil. In other words, it is a difficult place to live in. People will be mean to you. They’ll judge you, make fun of things you can’t control such as your appearance or your personality, and they can make a negative impact on your psyche. I understand that when people tell you to simply “ignore it” (as if you haven’t tried) it’s not easy. Whether we like it or not, we have a certain human need to be accepted by others. We crave it. So, when we don’t get that, we start thinking we’re the problem. Now, obviously you can’t escape your own mind/soul, so we start to dislike ourselves. Essentially, we start to bully ourselves because other people did the same thing to us.

 

Sometimes, the worst bully of all can be yourself.

These negative thoughts we put in our mind can cause harmful behavior to manifest which is why I need to tell you why self-love is so important to have within.

Self-love is defined as: Regard for one’s own well-being and happiness (chiefly considered as a desirable rather than narcissistic characteristic).

As I’ve gotten older and entered into college, I began to love myself more. It was hard in middle school and high school to achieve this because it was very clique-y and I was a quieter kid. I never really gave myself a chance to be accepted by a lot of people, and because of that, some automatically assumed I was weird because I wasn’t jumping out of my seat to tell them my whole life story. I did end up having various best friends throughout my K-12 education that I am grateful for, which leads me to one of the first ways to help you on your self-love journey.

A close group of friends is so important. It’s okay to have a lot of friends, especially if you  are very outgoing, but remember to also keep a more closer-knit group of friends that you feel comfortable confiding to because they will act as your support system when you are struggling and in need of advice or comfort. I am currently in my sophomore year of college and am rooming with 3 girls that have ended up becoming some of my best friends. We all have somewhat different personalities, but they blend together beautifully. We make each other laugh until we’re crying and have Taylor Swift dance parties when we’re feeling it. We tell each other our problems and go buy ice-cream if we are struggling.

Another way I have achieved self-love is by the concept called “TREAT ‘YO SELF”. Originally inspired by the show Parks & Rec., these words are something I live by. If I’ve done good on a test, cleaned, or just overall had a productive day, I will treat my self. This can vary from eating a certain food to watching a show on Netflix as a treat or even doing some online shopping. I think it’s important to reward yourself for good behavior because not only does it make you feel better, but it will keep you productive.

I also enjoy journaling. It’s kind of a form of therapy because even though you’re not talking to a person, you are still putting your thoughts into the universe by writing them down on paper. It helps empty a cluttered mind. Write down the good things, the bad things, and everything in-between. It will make such a wonderful difference.

Paying attention to your intuition and giving your body what it needs is an important aspect as well. For example, what you eat can really make a difference in how you feel, so make sure you feed your body healthy things with plenty of nutrients, stay properly hydrated, and get plenty of rest. When you lack any of these things, it can really affect you negatively! I know it’s hard to maintain these healthy habits all the time, but try to do it as much as you can.

Self-love is all about tending to your personal needs and accepting/loving yourself for who you are. Sometimes it involves getting a good night’s rest, reminding yourself why you are worth it, or even cutting a toxic person out of your life. It’s not always simple and it definitely requires effort, especially when you don’t have the best self-esteem. Remember, the best way to stay positive is to be around other positive people. If you are unable to do that, you need to focus on continuing to build yourself up. Remember to stand up for yourself and remind yourself that you are just as important as everyone else in any given room. We are all human no matter the differences that divide us, so don’t let the power society gives to certain people determine your worth. You are so much more than you know and are capable of infinite successes. 

 

 

 

Leave a comment